Minority to block gov’t bills for delay in passing anti-LGBTQ bill

The Minority in Parliament has accused the Chairman of the committee working on the anti-LGBTQ bill, of deliberately slowing down work on the bill. The minority says they have not seen any progress since the bill was introduced to the house about a year ago.
They have, therefore, vowed to block the passage of government bills if the LGBTQI bill is not worked on with urgency.
Speaking on the floor of the house on Wednesday, June 8, 2022, Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak stressed the need for the bill to be dealt with speedily.
“As far as the constitution is concerned, when you introduce a bill, and it is referred to the committee, that committee must not spend more than three months,” Mr. Mubarak argued.
Meanwhile, the Chairman of the Committee working on the bill, Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi has explained why work on the bill had delayed.
“I would want to draw the House’s attention that there are several bills before the committee. We had one in-camera meeting last week, and we have invited the sponsors of this bill for these meetings.”
“Honourable Bedzrah was at these meetings, so it was surprising that the same person who was aware of what the committee is doing will say that the committee is doing nothing about the bill. I want to set the records straight that the committee is on course, so far as bills are concerned.”
To this explanation made by the committee chairman, Alhaji Muntaka responded on Omaru Sanders Eye Witness News that “it is against our standing order 136 that clearly states that bills before the committee should not last three months. And committee chair Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi should know.”
The Bill on the Promotion of Proper Human Sexual Rights and Ghanaian Family Values’, prescribes that people of the same sex who engage in sexual activity could spend up to 10 years in jail and was presented to Speaker, Alban Bagbin in June last year.
Varying forms of support for the LGBTQ+ community will also be criminalized if the Bill is passed into law.
The members of Parliament that presented the bill are, Sam George (MP, Ningo Prampram), Emmanuel Bedzrah (MP, Ho West) Della Adjoa Sowah (MP, Kpando), John Ntim Fordjour (MP, Assin South), Alhassan Sayibu Suhuyini (MP, Tamale North), Helen Adjoa Ntoso (MP, Krachi West), Rita Naa Odoley Sowah (MP, La Dadekotopon) and Rockson Nelson Dafeamekpor (MP, South Dayi).

Share this post on:


More Posts


n aɖi, ziɔɣi, ƒoƒoe


n suku si me ɖeviwo nɔna eye woɖua nu hã le, nuɖuxɔ, amedzrowo nuɖuƒe,